Definitions for "HMAS Parramatta"
Four ships of the Royal Australian Navy have borne the name HMAS Parramatta.
The first HMAS Parramatta (D-55) was a River class torpedo boat destroyer laid down by the Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Company Limited of Govan at Glasgow in Scotland, launched on 9 February 1910 by Mrs. H. E. Asquith, wife of the British Prime Minister, commissioned as a Royal Navy Ship for the voyage to Australia on 10 September 1910, and passed to the control of the Australian government at Broome in Western Australia on 15 November 1910.
The third HMAS Parramatta (F 05/DE 46) was a River class destroyer escort (a licence-built Type 12 frigate) laid down by the Cockatoo Island Dockyard at Sydney in New South Wales on 31 January 1957, launched on 31 January 1959 by Lady Dowling, wife of the First Naval Member and Chief of Naval Staff, and commissioned on 14 July 1961 under the command of Commander G. R. Griffiths DSC RAN.