Definitions for "Kowloon"
Keywords:  hong, kong, peninsula, chuen, zaam
peninsula which forms part of Hong Kong
In modern day Hong Kong, Kowloon refers to the urban area made up of Kowloon Peninsula and New Kowloon, bordered by the Lei Yue Mun strait in the east, Mei Foo Sun Chuen and Stonecutter's Island in the west, Tate's Cairn and Lion Rock in the north, and Victoria Harbour in the south. Population (2000): 2,071,000. Population density: 44,000 people/km² or 112,000 people/mi².
Kowloon (Chinese: 九龍站; Cantonese IPA: ; Jyutping: gau2 lung4 zaam5; Mandarin Pinyin: Jiǔlóng Zàn) is a station on and the of Hong Kong's MTR. Only about 10,000 passengers use this station daily due to its inconvenient location west of the heart of Kowloon, making it one of the least used stations in the MTR system.