Definitions for "Municipalities"
Four major cities (Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai and Tianjin) directly under the central government rather than under provincial jurisdiction.
governments of municipalities directly under the Central Government are first-level local state administrative organs in China. In China, there are four municipalities directly under the Central Government, namely Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing. Governments of these municipalities must accept the unified leadership of the State Council that has the power to decide on the division of power and functions between the Central Government and state administrative organs of municipalities directly under the Central Government. Municipal governments have the right to exercise unified leadership over the work of the districts, cities, counties, townships and towns and exercise unified administration over the economic, social, and cultural affairs in areas under their respective jurisdictions.
Cities, towns or other districts having local self government. EU citizens have the right to vote in local municipal elections throughout the EU, even if they are not nationals of that State. . (See EU citizenship: Political rights)