the name given to foodstuffs that are not specifically mentioned as being kosher or non-kosher, but have a neutral status â€“ such as plants. Food that is parve can be eaten with milk or meat, or on its own with no restrictions.
Yiddish - meaning neutral, containing neither dairy nor meat ingredients. Refers to items that have a neutral status and may be prepared and/or served with meat or dairy. (See Fleishig and Milchig above)
Containing neither milk or meat derivatives, which can be eaten with either milk or meat meals. (example: fruits, vegetables, eggs).
containing no meat or milk or their derivatives and thus consumable with both meat and dairy dishes according to Jewish dietary laws.
lit. neutral: neither meat or dairy. For example, fish.