a figure used in comparing /evaluating the relative cost efficiency of media; the advertising cost of reaching 1,000 readers. (e.g. ABC magazine's Page 4C cost = $25,000. It reaches 1,000,000 Women, age 35-44. It's CPM for Women 35-44 is: $25,000/1,000,000 = $25).
Traditionally called CPM, because the "M" represents the Roman numeral for thousand. The figure is calculated by dividing circulation or audience by a thousand and dividing the result into the cost of the advertising unit.
The cost of advertising per thousand potential customers reached by a given publication, broadcast, or outdoor advertisement. This figure is often used in media planning.
Sure, you can make nickels and dimes from posting banner ads on your website.
An advertising sales term used to calculate how much it costs an advertiser to reach a thousand people.
The industry accepted rate for a banner ad, calculated depending on the price for every thousand banners viewed by a user of the site e.g. A banner campaign could be 100,000 impressions at £42 CPM = £4,200
In advertising. Used by the media planner to calculate the cost for thousand persons reached by a particular publication using cost and circulation data.
traditional payment measure used by advertisers (p. 274)
The cost of reaching 1000 viewers within a target audience with your advertisement. The CPT is also sometimes known as 'Average Station Price'
The cost per 1,000 people (or homes) delivered by a medium or media schedule.
Abbreviated to CPM. The cost of an advertisement divided by how many thousands of people saw or heard it. This is used to compare the cost of advertising in different media or different situations.
When buying a specific advertising or promotion medium, the results are expressed in terms of the cost to reach 1,000 people.
This is a standard measurement used for determining the cost effectiveness for a specific medium. It compares the cost of the advertisement to the number of impressions to your target audience. You can arrive at your CPM by dividing the media cost by the target impressions (in thousands).
Ads are charged at their rate of impressions, or amount of times the ad is viewed by Web visitors, usually in groups of 1,000.
The amount you pay for each 1,000 impressions of a banner or button on a site.
Refers to the cost for an advertiser to send a message to 1000 receivers. The measure is calculated by dividing the amount of money spent for a given advertisement by the number of people exposed to it. (Based on this measure, signs are usually considered to be the least expensive form of advertising.)
System where an advertiser pays an agreed amount for the number of times their ad is seen by a consumer, regardless of the consumer's subsequent action.
A way to purchase advertising based on the number of ad impressions.
A cost-efficiency measure that indicates the cost of reaching 1,000 readers, viewers, or listeners through an advertisement.
The cost of reaching one thousand advertising exposure opportunities in a market.
The cost of reaching one thousand members of the target market with a particular advertisement or promotional activity, this measurement is commonly used in the selection of appropriate media.
A measure of advertising efficiency based on dividing cost by 1,000 units of audience. COVERAGE: Conceptually, the number of households or individuals, regardless of where located that are able to receive a given television or radio signal. Coverage, as defined, is on a "can-receive" basis and should not be confused with circulation which is on a "do-receive" basis.
Generally abbreviated as "CPM". ("M" is the roman numeral for 1,000.) This is used when quoting costs of a number of different media: 1,000s of banner ad impressions on the Web; 1,000s of viewers for a television commercial; 1,000s of readers for a print ad; etc. Web advertising can also be bought on a "cost per click" basis. Contributed by: MarcommWise Staff See: Cost Per Click
The basic comparison of media value, either among individual publications or among schedules. Cost per Thousands can be made using various criteria: Cost/000 circulation: advertising cost divided by thousands of circulation. Cost/000 impressions: for a single publication, advertising cost divided by thousands of the AIR. Cost/000 gross impressions: the total advertising cost of a schedule divided by thousands of gross impressions delivered by that schedule. Cost/000 net coverage: total advertising cost of a schedule divided by the thousands making up the net coverage of that schedule.
A standard way to compare costs. The entire promotional cost of a mailing package is divided by one thousand. May include all operations to get packages into the mail stream: production; rental of outside mailing lists; postage costs; and fulfillment.
Advertising model where charges are based on how many times an ad is shown and not by how many times a user clicks on the ad.
The cost for each thousand impressions of your ad.
The cost of reaching one thousand potential viewers of an outdoor media display. Calculated by dividing the monthly cost of the unit by the circulation in thousands.
The amount an advertiser pays for one thousand advertisement impressions, regardless of the consumer's subsequent actions.
Used in comparing or evaluating the cost efficiency of publications. For publications, it is determined by dividing the rate or specific advertisement cost by the circulation or number of readers. In determining the CPM of homes and people reached, average audience is used. Simply, the advertising cost to reach 1,000 units of audience.
Total cost of mailing or ad divided by the number of thousands mailed.
This is the price paid for a thousand impressions.
Refers to the cost of reaching on thousand prospects. Common to printing, list rental and media circulation.
(CPM) - a variable used by potential advertisers to compare the cost of advertisements in different media; CPM = cost of an advertisement divided by the number of readers/viewers (in thousands).
The cost of reaching one thousand units of a media vehicle's circulation or audience with a particular advertising unit. Thus, the cost of an advertising unit divided by the circulation or audience (however it is defined) of the media vehicle in which it appears. Since promotional products are advertising media, one can calculate their CPM just as one would in traditional advertising.
Simply stated, it is the advertising cost to reach 1,000 units of an audience used in comparing or evaluating the cost efficiency of publi-cations or broadcast schedules. For publications, it is determined by dividing the rate of specific advertising cost by the circulation or number of readers. For broadcast media, it is determined by dividing the commercial rate by number of homes or people tuned in. In deter-mining the CPM of homes and people reached, average audience is used.
Advertising model by which an advertiser must pay a defined amount for every impression made by an advertisement. CPM is most often associated with banner ads on Web sites and branding campaigns.
cost of reaching 1,000 viewers of specific demographic profile with an advertisement
Refers to total cost-per-thousand pieces of direct mail "in the mail" (e.g., up-front proportional cost/M).
3/4– Advertisers' cost per thousand viewers exposed to a commercial. The total cost for one or a series of commercials is divided by the projected audience shown in thousands. If the cost of a commercial is $50,000 and the projected audience is 4,606,000 (4,606,000 divided by 1,000), then the CPM equals $10.86.
You pay a fixed sum for displaying your banner to 1000 visitors. The M stands for the Roman numeral = thousand.
CPM refers to the total cost to deliver 1,000 impressions. Most common method to describe the rate of an online ad purchase. Total cost divided by the number of thousands of visitors.
CPM refers to the cost of reaching 1000 potential viewers with an outdoor display. This value is established by dividing the displays monthly cost by the monthly circulation in thousands.
Cost per thousand impressions of a banner, icon, or link.
The cost of potentially reaching one thousand viewers for a media. This formula is different for print media and outdoor media.
The cost of delivering 1,000 gross impressions.
The media cost of exposing 1,000 readers to an ad.
The cost per thousand impressions.
Standard measurement for determining the cost effectiveness for advertising, by comparing the cost to impressions for a target audience.
Otherwise known as CPM, this is a traditional direct marketing measure that is also used in online marketing. It measures the amount paid to generate 1,000 impressions. In online marketing, it is typically used to compare the relative prices to receive 1,000 banner ad impressions. With the rise of Pay-Per-Click Paid Search, selling online advertising on a CPM basis has become a more minor part of the advertising solutions that most marketers use.
For Internet purposes, the cost to deliver 1,000 impressions.
A figure used to compare media costs, but the basis for comparison must be specified (e.g., "18+ Adults, households, 35-49 year-old women").
CPM): The amount you pay per 1,000 impressions of a banner or button.
The amount of advertising money it takes to reach one thousand viewing television households HH (using an audience measuring companyâ€™s statistics)
A cost per thousand is the amount of money it takes for a show or a media schedule to deliver 1000 impressions. CPMs can be expressed on a household or demographic basis, and they are used to assess the relative efficiency of one schedule versus another.
CPM is used by Internet marketers to price as banners. SItes that sell advertising will guarantee an advertiser a certain number of impressions (number of times an ad banner is downloaded and presumably seen by visitors.), then set a rate based oon that guarantee times the CPM rate. A Web site that has a CPM rate of $25 and guarantees advertisers 600,000 impressions will charge $15,000 ($25 x 600) for those advertisers' ad banner.
A type of advertising in which a web site gets paid based on the number of impressions given to an advert. Calculated in blocks of 1000.
The cost of reaching one thousand potential viewers of a billboard. The formula for calculation: the monthly cost divided by the circulation in thousands.
The cost to reach 1,000 people. Commonly used to compare different media costs.
The cost metric for one thousand banner advertising impressions.
The cost incurred or price paid for a thousand impressions. See also: Action Point, ClickThrough Rate, Conversion, Conversion Rate, Cost per Action, Cost per Click, Impression
In e-mail marketing, CPM commonly refers to the cost per 1000 names on a given rental list. For example, a rental list priced at $250 CPM would mean that the list owner charges $.25 per e-mail address.