Definitions for "1917-18 NHL season"
The 1917-18 NHL season was the first season of the National Hockey League (NHL). Four teams were scheduled to play 22 games each, except for the Montreal Wanderers whose season was cut short to six games due to their arena burning down. The championship trophy, the O'Brien Trophy, which was transferred to the new NHL from the defunct National Hockey Association became the league's championship trophy.