Definitions for "1950 Atlantic hurricane season"
The 1950 Atlantic hurricane season officially began on June 1, 1950, and lasted until November 30, 1950. These dates conventionally delimit the period of each year when most tropical cyclones form in the Atlantic basin. 1950 was a very active season, with 13 tropical storms, 11 hurricanes, and 8 major hurricanes, the most major hurricanes in a single season. 1950 was also the first year in which tropical cyclones were given official names in the Atlantic basin. Names were taken from the Joint Army/Navy Phonetic Alphabet, with the first named storm being designated "Able", the second "Baker", and so on, supplanting the numbering system previously used.