Definitions for "1955-56 United States network television schedule"
The 1955-56 United States network television schedule was for the period that began in September 1955 and ran through March 1956. Owing to the demise of the Du Mont Television Network, it was also the first TV season that the three major US television networks (NBC, ABC and CBS) would be the only full-time commercial participants in prime-time, a situation which was to remain for the next 30-plus seasons, until Fox began operations in October, 1986, although Fox would not enter prime-time until April 5, 1987.