Definitions for "LITURGICAL YEAR"
Also called the Church Year or Liturgical Calendar. Starting with Advent and ending with Christ the King Sunday, the year is divided into seasons and punctuated with Festival Sundays.
The cycle of seasons of the church year, including, in order, Advent, Epiphany, Lent, Easter, and Pentecost (see specific definitions of each one).
the annual cycle of seasons and feasts that celebrates the Paschal Mystery (Christ's life, death, Resurrection and Ascension). The unfolding of the entire Christian story makes its power available once again in each retelling. The smallest unit of the liturgical year is the liturgical day, made holy through the Eucharist and the Liturgy of the Hours. Liturgical days are divided into four degrees of celebration: solemnities, feasts, obligatory memorials, and optional memorials. The source and center of the liturgical year is the Paschal Mystery, which the Church celebrates every day but most especially on the first day of the week known as the Lord's Day or Sunday, the first of all holy days.