Definitions for "Aboriginal Peoples"
Section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 recognizes three groups of Aboriginal peoples -- Indians, Métis and Inuit peoples.
people whose national origins are entirely within the state, and have never migrated to that state in historical time. Aboriginal nations have no other origin in another land, and have recognized rights to cross boundaries that were established later than their traditional patterns. The Masai people migrate with their herds of cattle from state to state in East Africa. Aboriginal nations have the right to cross the Canada-US boundary without immigration or customs inspection, which has led to some problems of "smuggling".
This is a collective name for all of the original peoples of Canada and their descendants. The Constitution Act of 1982 specifies that the Aboriginal Peoples in Canada consist of three groups - Indians, Inuit and Métis. ~ First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples have unique heritages, languages, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs. The term Aboriginal peoples should not be used to describe only one or two of the groups.