Definitions for "Chumash"
The five books of the Torah [i.e., the Pentateuch: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy]. Return to Table of Contents
The five books of the Pentateuch, often referred to as the Five Books Of Moses. The word "chumash" is from the Hebrew word meaning "five".
"Five (books)" (i.e., Pentateuch). A one-volume edition of the Torah together with the Haftarah, convenient for synagogue services. Sometimes includes English translation and explanatory notes.
(Chumash) Indigenous people who live along the Pacific coast near the modern cities of Santa Barbara, California and on the Northern Channel Islands. In the second half of the 18th century, Spanish missions were first established among the Chumash.