Definitions for "House of Commons"
The Lower House of the United Kingdom Parliament, composed of (currently 659) Members of Parliament, directly elected in single-member constituencies by ‘ first-past-the-post’ voting system. It currently includes 72 MPs representing Scottish seats.
The Lower House of the Parliament of the United Kingdom
Lower house of parliament at Westminster. In 1485 it had 296 members representing 37 counties and 111 boroughs. The number of constituencies grew so that by 1603 there were 406 members representing 90 county seats and 370 borough seats.