The Committee of the Regions is an advisory body comprising representatives of regional and local interests. Members of the Committee are appointed by the Council of Ministers on the basis of nominations from Member States. Created by the Treaty of Maastricht (1992), this consultative body is composed of 222 members with 222 alternates who serve four year terms. Membership is roughly proportional to the populations of the Member States. The Council of Ministers appoints members proposed by Member States who are generally local, municipal or regional officials. The COR must be consulted during the legislative process regarding laws affecting trans-European infrastructure, education, culture, environment, or employment or having a particular local or regional effect. The COR issues opinions at the request of other EU institutions or can issue own-initiative opinions.
This consultative body aims to connect the EU institutions with local government.