Definitions for "CAIRNS GROUP"
A group of like-minded agricultural exporting countries, named after the city where the Group first met (Cairns, Australia, in 1986). Its members are: Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Paraguay, the Philippines, South Africa, Thailand and Uruguay.
This is a diverse group of countries which share one common interest, most of them are agricultural exporting countries. The group includes some developed countries like Australia, New Zealand, and Canada, but also includes a number of middle and low-income countries such as Brazil, Argentina, Philippines, Chile, Colombia, Hungary, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, and Uruguay.
A group of 17 agricultural exporting countries chaired by Australia.