Definitions for "Economic and Monetary Union"
currency area formed in 1999 as a result of the Maastricht Treaty. Members of the EMU share the common currency, the euro.
Planned by the European Community, involving a single market which allows free movement of people, goods, capital and services; formation of the European Monetary Institute, the precursor to the single EC central bank; and a single EC currency.
Alignment of economic and monetary systems among European Union member countries to enable the introduction of a single currency, the euro.