Definitions for "European Coal and Steel Community"
An economic agreement in 1951 among six countries of Western Europe -- Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and Netherlands -- that preceded formation of the EEC and ultimately the EU.
Established by the Treaty of Paris of 1951, the ECSC was the first European Community. Its aim was to create a common market in two of the materials central to militarisation - coal and steel - to reduce the likelihood of a future war between France and Germany. The ECSC was abolished in 2002.
Established in 1951 to develop a common market in coal and steel. The first European organisation to possess the supranational principle, with substantial powers over national governments and enterprises.