Definitions for "Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development"
Established in 1961, the OECD's aim is to promote policies that will achieve the highest sustainable economic growth and employment and a rising standard of living in the member countries. It also contributes to the economic expansion of both OECD member and nonmember countries, as well as to the expansion of world trade. There are currently 24 OECD members.
( OECD) Group of thirty countries, mostly industrialised nations and transitional economies, membership of which is limited to countries sharing stated principles of "adherence to market economies, democracy, and respect for human rights".
The OECD is a group (limited to countries committed to a market economy and pluralistic democracy) of 30 countries (Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, UK, USA) that come together to discuss, develop and refine economic and social policies.  Member countries exchange economic data and create unified policies to maximise their countries' economic growth and help non-member countries develop more rapidly. The OECD was created from the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC), which was created in 1948 to administer the Marshall Plan in Europe. In 1960, when the Marshall Plan was completed, Canada, Spain, and the United States joined OEEC members to form the OECD.