net sales minus cost of goods sold; the money available to pay for marketing and other expenses needed to operate the business. See gross sales, gross profit, net sales, net profit, and cost of goods sold.
Of an enterprise (or of an activity within an enterprise) is the gross receipts less the variable expenses (eg. Fertiliser, fuel, seed). Specific gross margins may be expressed on a "per hectare", "per labour-month", "per $ invested", etc. May be calculated on a historic basis from records or budgeted. Can also be calculated for the whole farm.
The difference between the selling price of a product or service and the cost of that product or service often shown as a percentage. Eg. if a product sold for 100 and cost 60 to buy or manufacture, the gross margin would be 40%. Gross margin can also be expressed on a the total revenue and costs of producing that revenue as well as on an item by item basis. [Go to source
In accounting: the difference between revenue from sales and the cost of goods sold; also called gross margin from sales. In publishing: the amount of total sales revenue less plant and running (also called unit) costs, expressed as a percentage. In retail bookselling, the difference between the retailer's cost of product, with discounts, and the retail sales price.
This value measures the percent of revenue left after paying all direct production expenses. It is calculated by Total Revenue minus Cost of Goods Sold divided by Total Revenue and is expressed as a percentage.
The margin earned by a firm on the sale of a particular good or service; gross margin is equivalent to the resale price charged less the price paid for a good by the business.Âàëîâèé ïðèáóòîê (ïðèáóòîê â³ä ðåàë³çàö³¿)Ïðèáóòîê, îäåðæàíèé ô³ðìîþ â³ä ïðîäàæó òîâàðó àáî çðîáëåíèõ ïîñëóã; âàëîâèé ïðèáóòîê åêâ³âàëåíòíèé ö³í³ òîâàðó àáî ö³í³ ïåðåïðîäàæó ç âèðàõóâàííÿì ö³íè, çàïëà÷åíî¿ çà öåé òîâàð ï³äïðèºìñòâîì.
Also called gross profit. This is how much money you have left after you have subtracted the direct costs from the selling price. Income - Direct Costs = Gross Margin This is a good number to scrutinize each month, and to track in terms of percentage to total sales over the course of time. The higher the better with gross margin. You need to have enough money left at this point to pay all your indirect costs and still end up with a profit.
The difference between total sales revenue and total cost of goods sold, or, on a per unit basis, the difference between unit selling price and unit cost of goods sold. Gross margin can be expressed in dollar or percentage terms.
With regard to an adjustable rate mortgage, an amount expressed as percentage points, stated in the note which is added to the current index value on the rate adjustment date to establish a new note rate.
An accounting term that refers to the difference between retail selling price and the cost of goods sold, expressed as a dollar amount or as a percent of retail sales. Gross margin percentage is computed by dividing gross margin dollars by retail sales dollars. The terms "gross margin", "margins" and "gross profit" are often used synonymously.
A percentage of how much of each dollar of sales is left over after the costs to make the product are subtracted. It is calculated by dividing gross profits (sales minus cost of goods sold) for a period by the revenues for the same period.
The gross margin reveals how much a company earns taking into consideration the costs that it incurs for producing its products and/or services. Gross profi t = net sales - cost of sales. Gross margin = (gross profi t/net sales) x 100.
The difference between the bill rate for the temporary services and the direct costs of employment (pay rate plus mandatory benefits such as workers' comp, unemployment insurance, employer's share of FICA and state or local taxes and optional benefits) for each temporary employee on assignment. A company's gross margin is the difference between its total billings and its direct employee costs.
A company's profitability after the costs of production have been paid. Gross margin is calculated by dividing gross income (revenue after production costs are subtracted) by revenue and then multiplying by 100. The result is expressed as a percentage. Gross margin shows you how profitable the basic business of a company is before administrative costs, taxes and depreciation have been taken out. Operating margins may paint a truer picture of a company's profitability.
The return an intermediary achieves on the selling price of the article. That is, if the intermediary buys a product for $1 and sells it for $1.50, the margin is calculated. For example, .50 divided by $1.50, or 33%.