Definitions for "Western Province"
Keywords:  province, honiara, luhya, daru, nairobi
The Western Province or commonly called by its old name, Hijaz is the most populous province of Saudi Arabia, located in the west of the country, with an extended coastline. It has an area of 164,000 km² and a population of 5,797,971 (2004) census). Its capital is the sacred city of Mecca.
The Western Province of Kenya, bordering Uganda, is one of Kenya's seven administrative provinces outside Nairobi. It is west of the Eastern Rift Valley and is inhabited mainly by the Luhya people. Quakerism is widely practiced here; there may be more Quakers here than in the rest of the world combined.
Western Province is a coastal province in southwestern Papua New Guinea, bordering the Indonesian province of Papua. The provincial capital is Daru, on the islands of Daru. Western Province covers 99,300 km2 and is the largest province in Papua New Guinea by area.