Definitions for "Parts of speech"
there are eight parts of speech: noun, verb, pronoun, adjective, adverb, preposition, conjunction, and interjection.
Linguistics talk a lot about different parts of speech (POS). Basically, they've discovered over the years that most if not all languages have words which are typically linked to things, and act in certain well-defined ways in sentences, and words which are typically actions and work in other ways. Because of this consistency across so many languages, we have developed words like noun, verb and adverb to describe these different categories.[ edit
the major classes of words. Some grammarians include only func- tion words (nouns, verbs, adjec- tives, and adverbs); others also include pronouns, prepositions, conjunctions, and interjections.