Definitions for "SECURITY COUNCIL"
Keywords:  veto, peace, china, russia, russian
the division of the United Nations charged with maintaining international peace, composed of five permanent members (U.S., Russian Federation, France, United Kingdom, and the People's Republic of China) and ten temporary members, each serving for two years.
UN executive agency; includes 5 permanent members with veto power (China, France, the United Kingdom, Russia, and the US) and 6 members selected by the General Assembly for 2-year terms
a permanent council of the United Nations; responsible for preserving world peace