The source or "original" virtual machine from which you take a snapshot or make a clone. A full clone has no continued link to its parent, but a linked clone and a snapshot each depend on the parent in an ongoing manner. If you delete the parent virtual machine, any linked clone or snapshot becomes permanently disabled. To prevent deletion, you can create a template virtual machine. See also Full clone, Linked clone, Snapshot, and Template.